Schizophrenia.com

Schizophrenia is an excuse to do nothing everyday

I’m slowly coming to the realization that schizophrenia is a good excuse to do nothing everyday and just claim benefits/welfare.

Should I?

I currently work as a software engineer for a big news company but I’m off sick. Currently receiving statory sick pay which is derisory.

1 Like

Your health will probably get worse at least usually that’s the case with motivation/purpose? Seems so at least.

If you can work, you should work. Staying home doing nothing gets horrible after like a month. Not to mention disability pays a minimal amount compared to living wages.

8 Likes

My health would get very bad if I did nothing.

I would go for walks and maybe the gym to use their running machine when covid is over.

But doing nothing would be very bad for my mental health.

1 Like

@chronological Do something with your life instead of wasting time doing nothing. I regret that now and have seen 10 years of my life just pass away. If you are a software engineer then continue coding. Doing nothing and living off of disability benefits contributes nothing to your country’s economy and raises the unemployment rate. You’ll never receive a higher income on disability than if you worked.

1 Like

I can’t concentrate like I used to. I’m thinking of taking my savings and living free for a few years and doing my own thing. Programming computers used to be my hobby.

Honestly. Is it worth sacrificing or risking?

Many people affected by the illness would give up disability and free days if they were functional enough to work. And there’s surely good reason for it.

Perhaps you’re just in a slight slump atm because you’ve fallen ill.

I do nothing and use it as an excuse, I don’t even get symptoms unless stressed. Not gonna do that foreve though

I can’t work for many, very good, reasons. I get severe, daily, sometimes more often, migraines that are very hard to treat. And they totally incapacitate me.