Read and Recall information

Hey everyone, who here can read and learn information?

I’m a student, and I find I have this weakness.

Lots of people here can. I find it difficult though.

Has practicing helped you at all?

I just listen to audiobooks now. I gave up on reading large volumes of text.

If you Google search how to recall what you’ve read there are actually a lot of good sites that have ideas to help.

I have poor recall skills as I am getting older. It is frustrating

1 Like

Schizophrenia has affected my ability to read and retain information, but also a head injury.

I have gotten into the habit of reading each paragraph twice, sometimes even three times as I go.

i can’t read big texts anymore… so reading a book is a no no…

Yes I have that problem since 2-3yrs before sz. I found a workaround but it only improves things a bit. I rewrote important parts on every page I had to read and highlighted important text. Sometimes I had to write the important txt more than twice to understand it. Plus I used the voice reading feature in Google books. If you have the book in pdf you can use @ReadAloud app.

1 Like

I’ve read probably a few dozen books since I got schizophrenia, perhaps. It depends on the book and how I feel and how I’m doing in life. Sometimes, I struggle a lot. Like I don’t retain information in the more abstract books. Some people claim to have read ‘thousands of books’ which I always found impossible, but who am I?

I enjoy conspiracy theories, math, and science, mainly.

I bought a ■■■■ ton of ‘hardcore’ math textbooks for future reference or for my descendents some day lol…I mean I always enjoyed collecting or having math books. I have enough math books for undergrad education plus some.

The conspiracy books are easy to follow and read and perhaps the most enjoyable.