Psychosocial functioning in schizophrenia

“Such impairments include poor social interaction, difficulties in maintaining relationships with family and friends, and/or inadequate performance in the workplace.”

I have friends but they’re not “deep” friends. We talk just once in a while. I feel i’m unable to find and maintain a romantic relationship. My parents are my main support.

I’m a nurse student, i have great grades. I’ll start the nursing practice in september. I’m scared because i’ll have to interact a lot more.

I wonder why some schizophrenic get married, have kids, are able to work well and some schizophrenic can’t do the same. Why is it so variable? I hope i’ll be very functional despite normal difficulties. However sometimes i feel it is out of reach, at least i feel if it is possible it requires a large extra effort.

5 Likes

Hi there! I will tell you my own experience with the illness…

On the beginning of it I spent 1 year and a quarter without any social interaction, it was super hard and dealt with it very badly… I did stupid things thanks to my one and only psychosis and I regret it not taking the meds or attend my doc…

After I got back to college I was still a mess socially, just after 4 years talking to my mates and friends I started to regain my social skills - I’ve lost touch with one or two thanks to them doing drugs that I don’t want to.
Although I’ve talked to them once or twice a year, but it’s not the same, you know when people use drugs usually they have thoughts of superiority among the ones that don’t use it, it’s awful…