Proxemics and touching

prox·e·mics (prk-smks)
n. (used with a sing. verb) The study of the cultural, behavioral, and sociological aspects of spatial distances between individuals.

I find I’m not very good at this. I know there is a lot of communication going on with touch. People touch each other all the time. I’ve read that in a book about communication body language. So I’ve been trying to apply what I’ve been reading.

I’m like a lot of others and and can’t take strangers touching me. But I’ve been trying to understand this. So far, no luck. I am either in your face, too close and I scare people, or I’m considered aloof and cold. Family who I’m comfortable with can touch me all they want. My sis holds my hand a lot when there is a situation she’s unsure about. (That is amazing to me. One squeeze of my hand and I can tell she’s scared about something. Or if she pushes my hand to the table, something is important and she doesn’t want me wandering off.)

But since I’m going into a class room soon, I’m wondering… are others good at body language and proxemics? Other’s tell me that reading personal space is intuitive. That doesn’t help me.

I’m okay with personal space and i think touching too. But i’m not touched a lot. I never have been except in romantic relationships. The most actual touching i do is with my dog. I don’t have a problem with it though if someone were to touch me.

1 Like

I remember watching something once about body language. Standing with your arms crossed is supposed to indicate to others that you don’t want them to close. Not everyone will recognize this though. My husband is horrible at understanding private space. I used to dislike people touching me. Now I’m more accepting. If you don’t want to talk to others in your class then try not to make to much eye contact. Try not to stress about it.

1 Like