People mention alcohol and look at my reaction

At work maybe cuz I’m a driver I’m not sure. Probably not. Probably just a coincidence. But my driving coworker mentioned alcohol and looked for my reaction and I had no reaction at all because I have no interest in alcohol anymore.

Then the girl I drive home from work mentioned alcohol and looked for my reaction she seemed surprised when I had no reaction. The thought of alcohol doesn’t even x my mind or spark any response from me.

3 Likes

I guess that most people drink alcohol. And I used to. But not any longer. Meds block my cravings and I shouldn’t be drinking much on meds anyways.

I’m an oddity to be kinda an “ex alcoholic”. People don’t comprehend me. Because even alcoholics in recovery usually need meetings

2 Likes

Oh mate - Trust me I know. Theres quite a few people that think im being wierd simply cos i wont go for a lunch time pint with them anymore, (which always turned into a ten pint session anyway).

Unfortunatly the only way for me was isolating myself from those people - and spending time on my computers instead, using the money ive saved for software and games alike.

Its so socially acceptable these days to get pissed up down the bar on a saturday night - that its an uphill battle from the beginning when you have said you have quit.

I treasure my sobriety now - and my bank balance appreciates it as well.

2 Likes

I wonder if they had issues with this with other delivery drivers possibly.:thinking:

The first guy who asked me was a delivery driver. I just think he’s a social drinker not an alcoholic. Can control his drinking so it doesn’t interfere with his job, something I could’ve never done before meds.

The second person was the girl who is probably most in charge other than the owner. But she’s always saying “ I’m not the manager I’m not the manager”

Insisting she’s not against me in any way.