Online dating profile... would you date him?

I update my profile every time i re-sign up. here’s the latest:

When it comes to dating, I'm old fashioned with a twist. I believe in courtship and the chivalry that accompanies it. The twist is that it's 2018! With text, social media, it can be difficult to navigate a potentially meaningful relationship. I'm terrible at text and I rarely use social media. You might have to answer an actual phone call.

I am in promotions for the LA Times. I go to venues and market the paper. Yes, there still is a newspaper! With everything going digital these days, it feels worthwhile to support a cause as important as print journalism. That said, I have a degree in economics should the paper business cease to be. Broker services is probably where I’ll land having worked previously in the field. On the side, I dabble with dropship projects.

You are someone that enjoys being treated well. You speak up when necessary and also know when it’s time to tone it down. You are empathetic and have a genuine interest in the welfare of others. You search your place in this world and wish to land on both feet with clear mind, open heart.

I subscribe to the 'get to know now, fill in details later' line of thought. any feedback on the profile? Would you date this person?

3 Likes

Idk, it sounds ok. How old are you? It is perfectly fine but if you want me to point out how I really feel I would think you’re a little too old for me and I wouldn’t go for you till I saw your photo and talked to you. I think I’ve seen profiles I liked better but I would be open to knowing more.

This line strikes me as a little controlling. I’m not trying to hurt your feelings. Only trying to be honest with my feedback. Perhaps try something using the word assertive, it seems more empowering.

7 Likes

What do you like to do for fun?

This part totally turns me away. The rest seems good. It just sounds too… Know your place, women are to be seen not heard. It feels icky.