Schizophrenia.com

New job prospect

Just got off the phone with a guy about a job in Hawaii doing pilot stuff. I don’t know if I could find a reasonable place to live that will take dogs but it has my interest so far.

3 Likes

It’s tough for a schizophrenic to hold down a job. Ellyn Saks says she doesn’t want to be known as the “schizophrenic with a job” but she basically is.

1 Like

I have been working full or part time since 2017

3 Likes

How many different jobs have you had in those 3 years?

1 Like

Full-time since 1998-ish here.

3 Likes

I’ve done my share of working for many years in the past.
I don’t feel bad that I’m no longer capable of working.

2 Likes

Three.

From 2008 to 2014 I burned through 7. Too sick then.

1 Like

Actually it’s 4. I have a full time and a part time job right now.

1 Like

It’s funny I got this job prospect through the same company of one of the jobs I burned through in 2013. Only lasted 6 weeks at that job. The salary was $90,000 per year.

I have applied with them several times in the last few years. Until now they have shunned me.

2 Likes

Tom all these jobs are no where close to where you live. Are you gonna leave your wife behind?

I will probably go alone. She can come later. We will maintain our house in Louisiana. Hawaii is expensive. It depends on how much money they offer me. I miss being around Marines. Unfortunately I have to wait until Tuesday to talk to the hiring manager.

The prescreen phone call went well.

2 Likes

If you have interest in a job and bring joy to your life then go for it! I have had several jobs over the last few years but I’ve been at my current one for 6 months. I think I’ve found a position that’s flexible enough for self care and I’m doing well at it. I hope you find the one that’s the best for you and what you need/want.

2 Likes

They offered the job to someone else. Good thing. I would have taken it.