Need tips for getting out of bed

I am supposed to get up at 9am

I always wake up at 4amish and end up awake for a couple of hours

And then I lie in till 12pm or 1pm

today was bad at 3pm

I can feel myself slipping

I have dropped out from the open uni as the degree was depressing with nobody to speak to

but I have a music production diploma class starting in February for 5 months

so I need to get up at 6am from now on

This is so tough

Also am I depressed if I can’t get out of bed? I don’t feel happy and my weekly workouts have been shifting to almost two weekly. I feel my self slipping again.

2 Likes

It could be depression, or it could be avolition (that comes with schizophrenia in some people).

I can get out of bed, but sometimes I can’t decide on what to do. Everything usually feels pointless (during most of 2023, anyways), but yesterday and today have gone okay. I made myself work on my writing, and it was a little easier to write today. I’m determined for 2024 to go my way.

Yesterday, I was able to listen to music for longer periods of time, because I read a book called Four Thousand Weeks, and it helped me learn that I don’t have to make all activities “useful” towards a more successful future, because the now is the only important thing. I’m trying to embrace more idleness. Rest should be rest and nothing that contributes to being better at a job, hobby, etc…

1 Like

Do you lie there in bed when you wake up at 4am?

When I wake up during the night, I take a pee and then meditate for 30 minutes. Then I return to bed to sleep. The meditation puts me in a relaxed state to get back to sleep more easily.

For healthy sleep hygeine use your bed for sleeping and not just resting. If you wake up and then are restless and can’t get back to sleep then get up, meditate/relax then go back to bed in a bit. See if this helps you.

1 Like

Sounds to me like you are simply having your negative symptoms exacerbated by a period of extra poor sleep.