My big attempt at reading is

Shakespeare. King Lear. I’ve got a copy and I’m thinking of trying to read it in the near future. I’m reading The Odyssey right now and it’s readable for me.

3 Likes

I can comprehend almost anything reading wise after so many years of miscomprehension

My laziness is mostly what keeps me from it

I’m reading a Tibetan text rn. On page 260 or so out of 400. But I feel i can read much more now it’s great :+1: :relieved:

good for you…I’m trying to read too…

Jukebox: I am a self taught classical guitarist. I’m not great at it, I rarely play a piece without a mistake, but I think I’m alright. I was wondering lately: could it be that I am spoiled or too good to learn the blues?

2 Likes

Also I was wondering, does a person finger pick a nylon string guitar or steel?

1 Like

I read voraciously. For me the key to reading the classic texts is to find a translation that “reads” well to you. For instance I have a great translation of “Beowulf” that is written in English but in such a way that it’s flowing the way the original verse would be. It’s very easy to read. Some literal translations are very halting and difficult to read and it makes it a chore to get through. Best to find a translation that “speaks” to you and it will be a story as intended.

There are fingerpicking techniques for both acoustic and electric guitars, but for nylon you need nails and for the other you play without nails. There is hybrid picking aswell, with a pick and your fingers.

For me the usual problem from a classical guitarist is that he is too much accostumed to reading music, and the blues is an aural tradition.