Lack of social experiences - Public transport

Today I went to an art exhibition in Tokyo with a friend. I’m not really good at using public transport so I was a little bit anxious. But for the last couple of months, I’ve been to some places like an art musium, cinema, classical concert, etc. on my own or with my mother, so little by little, I’m getting used to it. But I think I was a bit awkward today. I asked my friend “which way? which way?” when we were walking around the train station. I was embarrassed. I always wish I could be more used to public transport.

I was withdrawing from life in my teenage years and my early 20’s so I lack the social experiences most people my age naturally have. This might seem subtle to other people but a big obstacle to me. I feel discouraged even when I want to go out and get somewhere.

My friend is bi-polar, but she got her illness in her 30’s so she has work experiences and everything during her 20’s. So she’s like a normal person, at least in terms of social experiences.

What other social experiences you think you lack, if any?

I still feel confused on the busses and wonder if I took the right one.

Most people my age know how to handle their money. I’m still learning.
Most people my age know how much things cost. I’m still learning
Most people my age know how to cook for themselves. I’m still learning
Most people my age just decide to go somewhere and then go. I have to over come an anxiety attack to go do new stuff.

I get turned around in a crowd very quickly and then end up going the wrong way, or getting off at the wrong stop all the time. So I have to study the route on the the bus and train tracker on the computer and then write out what stop I’m looking for. If there is a huge crowd pushing forward, I have to sit and and let the crowd clear out and then I can figure out where I’m going.

3 Likes