Schizophrenia.com

Lack of maths education 'negatively affects adolescent cognitive development'

1 Like

I probably have dyscalculia so i was doomed from the start.

My weakness was geometry. I was absolutely useless at that!

I was always good in math but hated matrices.

My strength was algebra. I struggled with geometry. I made to an ivy league university’s graduate school to study statistics. I studied statistics for a year there. But, what I don’t register is that, why are my cognitive symptoms so bad?

I loved geometry but I was young, in college I had calculus 1,2 and matrices. I should have also taken calculus 3, its like 1 and 2 but in 3D.

I breezed through calc 1 and 2.

My calc 2 professor sent me a letter of invitation to study further mathematics.

I struggled in calc 3 and thereafter. I think the psychosis (delusions) got me right when I started studying calc 3.

1 Like

Yea me too, they wanted me to participate in math competitions but I declined as its extra work.

1 Like

Math competitions are tough.

1 Like

Yea I just wanted to focus on graduating with good grades in other courses too not just math. I dont think I could have handled the extra work for competitions while keeping having good grades in all the other courses.

Like biology, chemistry, physics etc Here after high school you have to do 2-3yrs of college before being able to apply for university.

Got it.

What did you major in college then?

1 Like

I majored in kinesiology in university. Its a major bsc. In college you just get a degree you cant do much with it. But now I am disabled due to severe sz negative symptoms. I cant work at all, I tried many jobs while on low dose meds.

I have that problem too. I find it hard to motivate myself.