IQ and Schizophrenia

Does SZ affect IQ?
My psychiatrist sent me to a neuropsychologist.
She tested my IQ but didn’t give me numbers.
Is she allowed to give me precise numbers?
She refused to give the results to my parents.

My verbal and problem solving skills were way less than average. From what I can remember she didn’t test math which I am really good at.
In visual reaction time and accuracy (Concentration?) I was way above average probably because I play lots of video games.

I don’t get IQ testing, I have a physio degree and got A’s in many of my university classes and she says I am less than average.

Schizophrenia does affect IQ, you lose 10-20 points I hear. But IQ testing is overrated, grossly.

As long as you have reading comprehension of some sort and a lot of persistence and willpower, you can accomplish all kinds of things.

4 Likes

In university I had an IQ test done. A government official test. I was quite above normal. 145. I’m sure I’m lucky if I’m in the normal range. I have a severe problem with recall. I’m always grasping at words.

1 Like

I my opinion an IQ test is only good at measuring certain aspects of the intelligence.
You can be quite clever even with a poor result and helpless even if you score high.

1 Like

IQ tests are quite poor representations of what constitutes intelligence. If you performed well at university, then you are someone with high intelligence. University isn’t easy, so to have scored as highly as you did is a good indicator of your intelligence.

2 Likes