Internship uncertainty and difficulty

Hi there!!
I am in third semester of pastry and bakery of a public Institute (I.E.K in Greece)
I want to have an internship when I finish my studies in fourth semester

My problem is that I am not sure how to achieve this and the things below are my main problems:

1)Lack of experience in everyday life and workforce (I never have worked)
2)Lack of good communication skills
3)I don’t know what my abilities are as a person
4)Lack of confidence
6)Easy tiredness
5)Βad conditions for workers in market because of crisis,unemployment and austerity (an example: you work for 8 hours and you are paid for 6 and the salary is 60% of the minimal)

I am in 6th year of recovery from disorganized schizophrenia. 3 years in remission and pretty stable. 32 years old.
I have achieved to make some friends but I think that my functionality,insecurity,immaturity and my complexes may cause problems long term.

My main goal of studies was that. To meet some people and go out of the house.
Now I want to pursue the chance to get in the workforce. I feel it is very difficult because of the above.
Is that the case or I just catastrophize and I look only at my feelings.
I constantly doubt and I don’t know if I must trust my insticts because my surroundings and my doctor press me to make the next step.
I am tired of quitting another chance of some certification.

Γειά σου φίλε! I also have disorganized traits, and that’s why I have undifferentiated schizophrenia. May your ΙΕΚ go well

Thanx buddy!! I hope you do better!!

1 Like

Anyone else who was in the same position?
How do you manage it?

Good luck! Pastry school is really hard, and it’s impressive you’ve done so much! Do your professors have any connections to help you get a job or internship? Many professors can help you find those things if you ask.

2 Likes

It’s good that you know yourself enough to give the list that you did. That is a huge step in itself.