Schizophrenia.com

I'm a published poet, trying to get my chapbook published. I write about my illness and how it intersects with spirituality. Let me know what you think (45 pages)

You might like it, you might hate it, you might relate to it a lot. But I hope it does something for you. At this point, I have written hundreds of poems, but only these poems I wanted to include in my chapbook. And only about six have been published in journals. But I’m still trying to get this book published. It’s typically a no-no to post an unpublished work online before publication, so I’m going to take this down eventually, I just want to get some reviews on things I did well, or things I could improve on before I submit this manuscript to more publishers.

There’s a lot of good art on this community, that people really love, so I thought maybe some of you would appreciate some poetry too. I am also an artist, but better at poetry. Here is the cover letter for the manuscript:

"Dear Editors of NN,

Page Count: 45 pages

The Glory Tree is a complete chapbook of poetry focusing on themes of mental illness, mania and psychosis, spirituality, and specifically as it relates to frustration with organized religion. It explores how mental illness and spirituality intersect and how that impacts the life of a person seeking treatment. It deals with drug use in many areas, and how that affects the recovery of any person living with a severe mental illness. In some ways, The Glory Tree gives an image of the culture of drug-using youth in the city of San Francisco, but not in a way that at all glorifies drug use. The book, as a collection of poetry, chronicles a rising manic episode, the climax, hospitalization and institutionalization (as well as its impact on a person’s psyche), and eventual healing and atonement. It also opens a discussion on how society medicalizes and dismisses divergent minds.