Schizophrenia.com

I work part-time job. Is it good for mental health?

Hello! I am back. It is been three months since I last active on here.

Since June, I have been working part-time job as delivery rider. Basically each week I work three days. Do you think it is good for mental health? Thanks to the understanding of my employer, I like the special arrangement of this part-time job schedule. The salary is nearly halved but I am feeling alright about it.

9 Likes

It’s awesome that you’re working. I think it’s good to have some kind of productive routine, to break up the monotony of life.

3 Likes

It’s absolutely healthy to work. As long as it doesn’t make your symptoms intolerable, you should be working.

4 Likes

Haha buddy I’m a food delivery driver. I’ve been doing it since August 9th. I actually do 4 days a week. Got tired yesterday but yes if you can handle it it’s definitely good for your mental health!! And your wallet!!

On the tough days I say it’s good im challenging myself because I’ll thank myself later on.

1 Like

Thank you for your affirmation. Becoming a delivery rider is less mind-boggling than C++ programmer. Sadly, I can no longer work as computer programmer anymore.

2 Likes

Thank you for your encouragement, I miss you and many others.

2 Likes

Good! You are a driver while I am a rider. :face_with_raised_eyebrow:
Which company are you working for? In my country, there is GrabFood, FoodPanda, and a few more.

1 Like

Oh I work for a local pizzeria. We only have one location. We have 5 guys who deliver pizzas at our restaurant.

I live in the USA btw. I’ve been on disability income too since 2014 and now I can work again because I’ve improved a lot. I’m not gonna come off disability soon but working 24 hours a week is good supplemental income. Although I can only do it for 9 months and then I have to limit my hours or I’ll lose the disability.

1 Like