I thought the Russians were controlling my mind via youtube

I had a problem with believing that the Russians were controlling my mind via youtube. I had a tendency to watch these videos published by Russians for hours and hours while I thought they controlled my mind. For over a year, I was convinced that I was a sleeper agent of the Russians, but finally I noticed some repetition in the patterns of what I thought the Russians were commanding me to do. Eventually I decided that I was just watching video playlists on repeat on youtube, while just thinking that they were taking over my mind.

But for example, during the election of Donald Trump, suddenly a very large number of these kinds of videos showed up on youtube. I just couldnā€™t stop watching them because there were so many new ones to discover and I wanted to receive more commands from the Russians. I watched them for hours and hours.

Months later, itā€™s really quite embarrassing. It took me so long to notice that I was just watching these videos on repeat while thinking that they were controlling my mind. Actually it was just a coincidence. The videos were playing in such a way that I thought they were sending me messages, but I realized that actually they werenā€™t. They were just videos that some random weird people had posted on youtube.

Then I found out that it is quite common with schizophrenia to think you are receiving individualized messages from a radio or a TV. For me, I realized that then what I was experiencing was a more modern version of this where TV/radio was being replaced by youtube. For example, I thought that if I watched the reflection of the lights in the eyes of the persons talking, eventually I would be able to decode some secret messages. I spent hours watching the reflection of these lights and trying to interpret them. I had all sorts of elaborate thoughts about the meaning of these blinking lights.