I am fighting hard to not overdose right now

I know I’m disappointing you. And I’m sorry.

Please don’t tell me to go to the hospital. We don’t have health insurance, and going would bring such a financial burden onto us that my husband might despair.

Please don’t tell me to call my psychiatrist. I have an appointment with him in 17 hours.

Please don’t tell me to call my counselor. I have an appointment with him on Friday.

Please don’t tell me it will get better. I’ve been hearing that for five years. And though my view of the Lord has become more accurate, my compassion for other people has increased, and each moment with my kids is an undeserved blessing that I am overwhelmingly grateful for, a lot has not gotten better, it has gotten worse. Much worse.

Please don’t tell me I am loved. I know I am. I have more support than many people. You all are so kind to me here, and I have not earned your sweetness. Still, the cares of my heart are many, and I am overcome.

I love deeply. Often, though I am struggling, I can still interact on this forum. However, in recent days, the cognitive impairment I experience has limited me in responding. I just can’t formulate the words. (Of course, I have moments of brevity and I try and take advantage and post or PM folks.) Yet, I have continued to read your posts. I ache with you. I grieve with you. I worry for you. I pray for you.

I’m not asking for you to respond. But if you feel led to, please offer words of life. Please avoid cliches, and please avoid guilt. I feel bad enough.

Please know this is not a fleeting moment for me. This is a logical, reasoned choice. I really am in a hard place. For example,

1. We are in debt. I can not work, though I want to. I was denied disability, and I am too incompetent to appeal.
  2. We cannot afford health insurance. My husband makes too much to receive Medicare or for my children to go on chip. I’m terrified that I have two toddlers without health insurance.