Schizophrenia.com

Hunted and Alone

Maybe I should stop watching video’s on youtube about people mentally ill being shot by cops. Maybe I shouldn’t have this illness … I hate having an illness that I have to keep a secret. I hate when people ask me what I do for a living - I drive a taxi (uber) part time and receive SSDI here in the States. How do you deal with being different ?

2 Likes

Hi! I pretend like I’m living a double life (because I technically am). In public, I am person X, composed, introverted, college graduate. In private, I am always near a state of panic on the inside. I found that pretending to be person X gives me some distance from my chronic panic.

I have omitted the truth about my sz for about a decade now, to everybody new I meet who is not directly in the mental health system. It is painful. It is lonely. It is, to me, necessary. I am not in the mood for discrimination. I tell myself that between being lonely on the inside and being overtly discriminated against because of a biological illness–I’ll take the internal loneliness.

I know what you mean about the police, in my town they faced a ton of criticism for chronic shootings of sz who had boarded themselves up alone in their homes out of fear. I, too, live in fear of police responders shooting me to death, should I ever become floridly psychotic again. I live in a high crime, low income neighborhood, so the chances of this happening are actually fairly high relative to the city next to mine.

I hope you are dealing okay. congrats on your part-time job, by the way!

2 Likes

I just isolate myself.

2 Likes