How to forget memories quicker

I wonder how I can forget memories quicker.

I spent 10 years abroad so you can say I was raised in Canada. I now have decided to stay in Korea due to the coronavirus and my mom has been saying that it was “God’s will all along”. I’m studying for my transfer test to a Korean university so I hope I will get in.

I miss my friends in Canada and the hospitable environment I was in. It’s not like I hate Korea or anything- I love my country and I love my family here, and the food is great and mostly affordable. But I miss my friends greatly and I miss seeing them.

I spent so long abroad that living in Korea seems foreign to me, and I have no friends. I keep longing for Canada as if it was my birth country because I’ve lived there for so long. I miss it.

Can you guys tell me how to forget memories quicker? I want to forget that any happiness existed in Canada so that I could ■■■■ it and live my life here.

I don’t think happiness exists. I need to forget my memories because I’m bitter that my life exists.

1 Like

I’m only good at forgetting bad memories. Jail, what’s that?

I wish you could move somewhere where you’d be happier.

Make new happy ones. Build a better life for yourself so you dont miss what you had in the old one so much.

I remember when i moved in middle school and was so sad. I had left some of the best friends of my life behind and was having trouble making new friends at my new school. I became depressed and thought about my old home every day. Then I heard the song “shadow of the day” by Lincoln Park and it sparked this sort of aha moment to where i was like focusing on the past isn’t benefiting me it is just making me sad. And I chose to let go and focus on my new home and I started hunting down people who I could be friends with and I was no longer depressed about it.

2 Likes

@Anna @agent101g
Thank you guys for your word of advice. I want to be happier, too.