How long did it take you to have your first relapse?

I was diagnosed with sza in july 2015 at age 19.5 and i still have yet to experience a relapse. I was taking an herbal antidepressant called st. Johns wort when i first became psychotic. I think my descent into psychosis might have been caused by this factor. For some background, st johns wort is said to cause psychosis or mania in those diagnosed with schizophrenia or bipolar affective disorder. My question is, does taking st. Johns wort count as a drug induced psychosis or was it just plain schizophrenia? Also, how long after your first psychosis did it take you before you had your first relapse? I’m relatively new to sz and all it entails so i need your help in knowing what to expect in my future.

1 Like

About a month after I stopped the meds

My first psychotic episode was I think also triggered by antidepressants , but also with some drug taking after I was already psychotic making it much worse so they put psychosis NOS for me so far, not sz. But I’ve had some level of psychotic symptoms (without drug taking except one OD) since then at all times and that was about 2 and a half years ago and now they even want me to take clozapine.

I think if st johns wort caused your psychosis chances of relapse are probably lower, but still best to keep taking the meds for as long as you can. I think I remember reading somewhere 1/3 of sz have only one episode and then recover, 1/3 have recurrent episodes and 1/3 have chronic symptoms.