How long did it take for you to…

Maintain enough of a healthy state of mind, body, and working memory to return to an educational institution or some sort of work?

4 Likes

Immediately after going on disability I started learning part-time via distance learning (The Open University) and got a second degree.

Now after 10 years I’m going back to work in September.

3 Likes

Before Covid I was volunteering 8 to 16 hours a week This started after my mom died in 2018. I hadn’t worked since 2007 before that.

1 Like

The first time I had my psychosis in 2010, I went back to work after 6 months. Then in 2020 I had a second psychosis and I stayed out of work for 2 years. Now I am going back.

1 Like

Volunteer work is good for society. I need to focus on improving my health first.At one point I was considering volunteering. I am not sure what or where I would volunteer or if I would be a good volunteer.

2 Likes

Good job with the second degree!

1 Like

After dxd it took about ~2 years to get into workforce.

1 Like

My mental health got in the way of my career and education. I am hoping that in the future I can maintain work.

I think I can be ready to do some work or finish university in a few years.

1 Like

Took me around 8 or 9 years. I stopped working at 21 or so, started working full time again at 29

3 Likes

I volunteered about a year after My first psychosis… One morning a week… That’s about all I can cope with in the most part… I’ve studied much more intensively, but it’s not been maintainable in the long-term
I’m currently studying short courses and thinking about doing a morning a week volunteering as well, Unless studying gets more intensive

Hmm, after the first episode it took me almost 4 years and some minor episodes during the 4th year, before my negatives finally got better and I was able to work again.