Home, About, Contact Us, FAQ

How long before I recover my mental speed

Hello to all of you. as I have said before, I’m on risperdal. Right now my dose is very low so I feel much better, but I still have some concerns.

My problem is that I am a writer, and this is something very important to me. As important as life itself, so I don’t take it lightly… the thing is that risperdal has made me lose my creativity and my mental speed. I am now capable of writing, and I’ve written some short stories, but I don’t have the storytelling strength and prowess I had a year ago (in which I finished two novels and lots of short stories).

I will stop my medication. Since I have is delusional disorder, and I am getting practically to my previous level, this is neither risky nor dangerous, but just a matter of time.

What I am concerned with is that I don’t know if I’ll ever be as good as I used to be. I was, and people told me, a very good writer. Very creative, very skilled in prose and character and plot. I knew my craft, and life would be meaningless to me if I couldn’t write again as I used to.

Will I recover my previous speed when I stop risperdal? Will my brain go back to the fast pace it had when I wrote? Or I’ll have to deal with this slow mind?

This is a matter of work, creativity, lifestyle and legacy… the most important thing to me.

Don’t stop your meds. You’re on them for a reason. Your sanity has got to be your number one priority.

I will not stop my meds on my own. I have said it before. This is all in order, and it’s still matter of months. Probably four, five, six, maybe more. I’m not concerned with stopping my meds, because I know it will happen, and I’ll go back to them if it goes wrong, so there’s no problem.

My concern is my mental speed. To me this is like harakiri for japanese people. I don’t like to talk about my philosophy of life, but my writing career is that important to me. I don’t want to mess anything, just want to know that.