Schizophrenia.com

How do you define an artist?

Just wondering :slight_smile:

I’m not an artist but here’s my definition of one:

Someone who earns a living as an artist can be considered an artist. A mere love of it is like a love of jet planes.The love doesn’t make you a pilot. Making model planes don’t make you a pilot - the same with art. Good intentions don’t cut it. Being able to consistently get work is a sign of your skill and usefulness as an artist. Anyone can compliment you but when they begin writing cheques, then you’ve entered the same field that the old masters inhabited…art as a way of making a steady living. Everything else is no more than an amusing story.

someone who sees beauty, and communicates that vision.
usually the question, in the philosophy boks, is what is art.
That can go all over the place. My favorite answer was by a musician friend of mine,