How do I stop the nightmares?

I don’t know what to do. I have been having them EVERY NIGHT for the past 3 WEEKS. They are brutal to the point where I am scared to sleep at night and have been staying up a lot of nights which isn’t good for me. Does anyone have any suggestions??

I’m not even under a great deal of stress or anything!! I graduated and the past week has been straight partying and celebration nothing bad at all!! I don’t understand!!

1 Like

I’m so sorry that you are going through this anna. I take prasosyn for nightmares it works great, its a god send for sure. Its a blood pressure medicine but from what I heard the va figured out that it was working on stopping nightmares in veterans with ptsd. I was skeptical but I worked my way up to 5 mg and they just stopped. I haven’t been woken by a nightmare since. Its a miracle for me. I hope this helps. stay alive fren

3 Likes

I have no great advise. Try the prasosyn as the other poster suggested. I hope it works for you. I don’t have nightmares very often at all but it is horrible when I do. Sorry you are dealing with that.

1 Like

I tried it before but had to stop because it really messed up my blood pressure…made me very woozy and I almost fainted several times. Maybe I’ll try it again anyways because I am getting desperate.

1 Like

These sound like night terrors. I think they’re generally the result of past abuse or trauma and I believe they are closely linked to PTSD. I think you’d be well served to have yourself see a mental health professional to help you get pointed in the right direction.

This could be an indication of a very serious problem that could cause you harm in the future. I’d play it safe and let a professional evaluate this one.

1 Like