Fantasy beats real life any day

Yay or nay???

Yay and nay. My fantasy life is very rich, but than it’s reality that matters. Damnit.

2 Likes

Fantasy is best if you can make a profit off of it in reality. Otherwise it’s a waste of time.

My fantasy life was filled with peril and kidnappers… and danger at every turn… I felt my family was targeted… it was constant stress keeping my family safe from kidnapping strangers…

Reality is much more relaxing.

2 Likes

Which fantasy life? Hmmmm.

Some worlds like video games are better, which is why I quit playing them.

My line of thinking is like @SurprisedJ 's line of thought- my fantasy is not voluntary, it’s paranoid ideation. I prefer science and exercise (which technically falls under science).

People sometimes forget that experimental psychology is in fact an empirical science. My degree is a B.A. but there is no doubt that doing the honors thesis (which is optional) that I am a scientist. Running an empirical study, reviewed hundreds of articles? Science. Research methods. Clinical disorders. Interventions for perceptions of clinical disorders. Clinical implications of the intervention for the stigma (negative perception).

I love science more than retreatism because science is good for other people whilst retreating feels good but does no good for anyone else in most cases…not absolutely but most of the time this is true.

Immanuel Kant was a retreatist but his deontology is still doing good today in the world of ethics. Most people, practically everyone is not on his level.

2 Likes

Fantasy is like drugs it’s amazing to break barriers and experience things you didn’t think you otherwise could…and then you come crashing back down to reality :stuck_out_tongue:

‘Imagination is more important than knowledge’