Does risperidone have a side effect -- difficult reading?

This is my first time on the forum. My 26 year old daughter entered a psychiatric hospital a month ago and while the diagnosis isn’t definitive, the doctors believe she has paranoid schizophrenia. She is on risperidone which is proving effective. She revealed she has been hearing voices, conversations for 12 years, and now they are gone (almost). Her mind feels clear. And she is much calmer. However, she reports she has difficulty reading. She used to read voraciously – it was her favorite activity – and now she is having difficulty with it. I wonder if her ability to read will improve as she adjusts to the medicine, or will it be the price she has
to pay for a calmer mind.

Yes I had this symptom. Ask the doctors about cogentin (sp?). It helped with the restless legs and reading difficulty.

I have this symptom too, I used to read a lot, now I have to use audio books. Even with those my concentration is so poor I end up replaying audio books over and over. There are apps you can get for mobile phones that highlight sentences slowly and then move on, to assist reading. Google ebook readers.

I haven’t read since my last episode. I don’t see any point in it anymore anyway, I can’t remember what I watch on tv at times, so reading a book would be just as pointless.

1 Like

I never had that issue with Risperdal - but I will say that I had difficulty reading when I was coming down from a psychotic high - psychosis can give someone trouble reading or writing words