Does it really take ten years to 'master' music?

to all the music masters @patrick with his little dittys and @huckfinn with his awesome rock groove jams, how long have you been making music

according to my book…it takes ten years on average to “master making music”

gives me hope since i’ve really only TRULY been working for 3 years…even though I’ve been writing for longer

thanks for your advice guys!

these rock band greats spent their childhood in garages jamming i bet

i feel im unique in that i (kind of) have a dream, at times, but it wasnt until i messed up my life completely that i said “hey maybe i can do that”…nothing comes easy it takes much practice though

yea… i wouldnt call myself a master yet but ive made good progress in spurts over 24 years now. im 40 last month and i started playing guitar and writing intently at 16.

my first actual gig other than open mics i was 29… largely because of my alcohol problems and even then i only gigged the bars for a year and then went on to coffee houses and inviting other AA’s.

but honestly ive been only getting a handful of better responses over the past year or two…

for many years all i noticed were criticsms on my music…

Youre doing great bro! my thoughts are that i suggest quitting the booze and other stuff and i can guarantee you will progress quicker and stronger.

and you will be healthier brother

1 Like

24 years…it definitely shows

1 Like

the thing about the drugs and booze…i feel i would have less to talk about if i quit them…i dont think it makes you more creative. like you’re jamming out so i could definitely see why quitting drugs and alcohol helps you…but its a matter of lifestyle…and i enjoy it…and dont think its harming me that much. maybe im in denial. i really dont drink that much and im careful with the drugs not to overdo it…but its part of my material. i would never know unless i stopped though.