Do Negative and cognitive symptoms get in the way of driving vehicles?

Someone with negative symptoms, managing to drive a vehicle with tranquility, attention and precision?

1 Like

Cognitive impairment gets in the way of me driving. I don’t have the concentration to drive unfortunately.

Negative symptoms probably don’t matter for driving in my opinion.

6 Likes

I think it’s my Haldol that makes it hard for me to drive. I don’t have the mental alertness to drive on the highways. But I can drive on main roads

1 Like

for me it is pure anxiety that gets in the way of driving and stress

2 Likes

and the concentration required for it in combination with the anxiety and stress would be too much for me

2 Likes

same here. pdoc said i shouldn’t drive anymore and i think he is right.

3 Likes

I drive very well

1 Like

I’m a good driver, and I don’t have any symptoms that get in the way of it. Once I’m behind the wheel, I’m totally focused on the road.

1 Like

Negative symptoms don’t affect my driving. I’ve been known to park a vehicle for safety when having trouble with positives being distracting or being slowed down by high doses of meds.

3 Likes

I’m a delivery driver, that’s my job. I’m on the road 6-8 hours a day. Rural, suburban, highways. I spend like 90% of my shift driving.

I love to drive.

I don’t really have negative symptoms or cognitive problems though. But I had very intense positives before I was medicated. But even when I had positives I could drive just fine.

3 Likes

I think my thoughts race worse when I drive and I panic. Because I’m sitting still and trying to focus.

1 Like

Never taken a driving test. Too aware of my impairments, and the fact I’d be an accident waiting to happen,to get behind the wheel of a car.

1 Like

I drove for 40 years and I got into so many accidents every one of those years that I can’t count them all.

I walked away from every one of them without a scratch and I never hurt anyone else either, by the grace of God.