Coding or data science

Does anybody do the above for a job?

Are they hard/stressful…?

Which is least stressful and could be done part time?

What type of character do you need for it?

@Joker @Andrey @everhopeful

1 Like

It’s a good job and well paid for the most part. As long as you’re cool with translating things people don’t understand into things they will try to, you’re good to go.

5 Likes

I don’t know anything about data science.

But coding will require you to retrain every few years as technology changes. Coding is quite stressful also even if you have a talent for it.

8 Likes

Ummm I used to, yes. I was a software engineer for many years, I also know a little bit about data science, which also requires math besides coding skills. Both are highly demanding, you need sustained focus and a high tolerance for bullsh1t. Because requirements may change while you are in the process of implementing a solution and you are forced to change the whole design. Or you may end up with a team of people who don’t give you credit for improvement ideas, until you no longer see the point of it all. It can get very stressful. And part-time jobs in my area are almost inexistent, but maybe you’ll have more luck. If you are good at coding, and passionate, give it a try, either with a permanent contract or as a freelancer. Fingers crossed.

6 Likes

I worked as a junior data scientist for a year. Characteristically you need to be logical or know how to think logically because you code and make algorithms which have many logical steps. and second, you need communication skills to ask seniors what you want to know about and check if what you understand is right. From my perspective these two things are critical in working as a data scientist.

The least stressful job might be data engineers. Because relatively you less need communication with others so I think for data scientist jobs, communications skills which schizo are lack of compared to others make it harder us to work.