Catch 22 - Smoking

Australia has the highest taxes on cigarettes in the world. The people suffering the most because of it is the mentally ill. I’m spending like 1/3 of my Disability on smokes. I really can’t afford it. It’s about the only thing keeping me going at the moment

Support wise case workers, Tdocs etc have been saying now and for years it’s not the right time to quit. The issues there are so many projects that need money. Even basics like clothes as have lost 50kg (about 110 stone) Since Nov.

I’ve sort of been preparing for the time. Reading idiot’s guide to quitting smoking, Allen Carr’s easyway to stop smoking. Trying to get into some stop smoking program’s… I’m also very aware I’m trying to fly at the moment while I’m still learning to crawl. It’s a case of so much has to start changing in my life.

Money is the real issue. Getting back to work is one answer. Which I’m trying to do . Getting more experience in the
field I want to get into is resulting to volunteering work which means no extra money coming in at least for awhile.

This is driving me nuts today.

1 Like

those that are mentally ill should get cigarettes prescribed to us…

4 Likes

Hey dream. You tried ecigs? They have saved me loads of money.

3 Likes

I second that on ecigs, they save me a small fortune.

3 Likes

Same here, I’m in Australia and use e cigs if you live in my city I can point you to a store that can help you get set up.

Also check out aussievapers.com.au

You just need to import the liquid with nicotine as of course in our nanny state you can’t buy nicotine in AU.

I can help you get set up if you want.

I used to smoke a pack a day now I vape and I have saved thousands

3 Likes

the best thing would be if you could quit altogether, but instead of that ecigs are a lot cheaper than regular smokes, or instead of that getting roll-you-own tobacco is much cheaper than packets of cigs.

1 Like

I say don’t quit nicotine until you are what a tenured professor? lol