Can we become psychiatrists?

I was first diagnosed with schizophrenia when I was 18 years old (although I think I’m schizoaffective).

I managed to finish med school. Now I’m studying Psychiatry. I’m about to begin 2nd year of training (4 years total).

I feel insecure because schizophrenia carries such a big stigma and nobody knows about my diagnosis.

Can people with schizophrenia become psychiatrists? What do you think about it?

And sorry, English is not my first language. :confused:

12 Likes

Your English is very good.

As to your question…I would think that that would depend on rules of your country. You could probably research this on the internet based on your country.

1 Like

Its possible but I heard that if you have a mental illness you can’t become a Dr. I posted here about a female Dr who got her medical license removed due to schizophrenia. Its in the UK.

1 Like

I don’t know if you can hide your schizophrenia from them and from your environment. I don’t know if its illegal.

1 Like

Just from a cursory look at the internet the answer is probably “yes”. But your country could be different.

2 Likes

Here finally found the Dr who got suspended:

https://mindreel.org.uk/video/doctor-who-hears-voices

1 Like

Thank you. I’ll research about the rules in my country. I hope it’s not illegal. :confused:

2 Likes

Well, I’ve never been hospitalized and the Healthcare system in my country doesn’t know about my diagnosis (I go to private doctors for this reason and buy my own meds.)

3 Likes

How? Not from a pharmacy?

The healthcare system in my country gives free meds to those who are diagnosed with mental disorders.I don’t get free meds because I don’t receive medical attention from the national healthcare system so I have to buy my meds from a pharmacy.

2 Likes

Good luck, if I were you I would get another degree unrelated to medicine just in case something bad happens and you can’t practice medicine anymore.