Bupropion: scared by the side effects, please read

Hello community, I have been prescribed bupropion 150mg for 7 days and then 2 times a day for 150mg for 3 months.

I am scared of the side effects that I read on the internet, I want to know if someone uses it or knows something about the medication

I have been using it since 2009. I have taken 100mg to 300mg. No side effects

1 Like

I had a bad reaction to it when I tried it. I became suicidal. But it was obvious and pretty quick. You should be able to tell pretty quickly if it’s not for you. If not, then there are plenty of other antidepressants you can try. Sometimes you have to try a few before you find the one that works with your chemistry. I’m taking Zoloft and I’m as pleased as punch. It’s like the 10th one I’ve tried. lol 10th times a charm. Just pay attention to your body and report any side effects to your pdoc and you’ll be ok.

2 Likes

I’ve been taking 200mg for a few months. I have not noticed any side effects however I also haven’t noticed any significant changes in my mood.

I smoke much less now though! Which is fantastic considering I never had any motivation to quit.

2 Likes

That’s weird. Zoloft did nothing for me. Wellbutrin helps but the antipsychotics Latuda helps more.

Everybody is different

2 Likes

It lowers your seizure threshold as it did for me so I got a trip to the ER one day. Please be careful of alcohol consumption if that is your thing. :slight_smile:

the seizures were by mixing alcohol with bupropion or why?

(I’m really scared)

1 Like

Well Wellbutrin lowers the seizure threshold by itself but the night before I drank too much so the psych nurse said that can do it.

No need to be scared as we are all different. Good luck to you. :slight_smile:

Every brain is different. I received no positive or negative effects from buspirone. It was like taking a sugar pill for me. My doctor said it can help combat the sexual side effects of other meds, but it didn’t work for me.