As a paranoid schizophrenic what's the best field of work?

am I in the right field?

Im studying office jobs

1 Like

Yes you are in a great field. Don’t let schizoprenia push you down.

4 Likes

There’s no one goto answer. Everyone is different.
As long as you think it’s a good fit for you, give it your best shot!

8 Likes

I think it’s important that you’re able to keep your stress low. So find out what stresses you and avoid that.

5 Likes

I do not know the answer. I can share the little experience I have.

My job before psychosis was software developer. After psychosis I lost a lot of mental ability. I can no longer do my old job. I consider switching to some kind of manual labor, since no matter my experience and previous ability, now I can only do simple tasks.

I did try to get back into my old career. I failed. Someone with greater willpower and a milder case of the illness could have probably done better.

1 Like

It depends on how well you tolerate stress. I aim for easy blue collar jobs.

My first thought was dead letter room, but even that could be stressful. I think it’s gonna be different for each individual.

It can be good to stretch yourself and go for a good job. Most of my 30+ jobs have been entry level, unskilled labor jobs, though. Some people can handle more stress than others.

2 Likes

I have a few ideas about what I might have done. Maybe be a librarian. I like to read, and I’m interested in classification systems as a mnemonic. Or maybe a journalist, because that would get me very adept at the nuts and bolts of writing good prose, and I wouldn’t have to work so hard revising what I write. But basically, I have done nothing. I delivered pizza here and there, but that is about it.

I was in information technology and the stress was affecting both my head and my heart condition, I had to dial it back some. Now I’m in insurance and I find it much easier.

Well, I left my restaurant jobs behind.
I’ll never go back.