Analysis of Treatment Goals for Patients with Schizophrenia

For patients 47% said the most important goal was to think clearly. I am not sure how you can recognize this. I would say sometimes I feel like I am not free.

1 Like

For me, I can tell when I can’t think clearly by how much I snap with frustration when overcoming an obstacle, as opposed to being capable of being smooth about my thoughts through the course of surmounting the obstacle. Definitely something that changed after I got SZ - I am a software engineer by trade, and frustrations like that come with the territory. I used to be one of the best programmers I knew before the onset of my SZ, and now I suck because I can’t handle frustration well enough to avoid snapping and losing my attentional focus…

1 Like

Thank you for sharing that. I guess I am a little bit similar. I was a very good student in school and I was heading for success of becoming a physician. Then at age 25 I became ill. After that I could do nothing for about 20 years. (I was very ill.) Now for the last 16 years the best I can do is data entry. At least I accept my lot.
I am sorry to hear of those harmful changes in your life. Perhaps “thinking clearly” really is a part of our problem. I struggle to define it.
Is it frustration? I will say that I get upset easily and then worry and get anxious, and I have trouble working.

1 Like

Now that I think clearer I know I used to be very unclear in my thinking

However when I was unclear in my thought I wasn’t so aware of it.

Maybe it’s a part of thinking blurry, you’re not even aware of it because your thought process is so blurred.

1 Like

I have days when my thinking is really good , juxtaposed with those where it’s a struggle to coordinate thoughts. The attitude when I first got a sz dx in 1975 , from MH professionals, was to set expectations at a very low level. Thankfully things are a lot better now. There is even
Students with psychosis