An Argument to Keep Some Form of The Affordable Health Care Act

When I worked as a VISTA volunteer 5 years ago I discovered some of the chicanery of the pre-existing condition business in America. There was a health care company that supposedly covered all volunteers and it was required to be presented at doctor’s appointments before presenting the state insurance by state law. They didn’t cover a thing because schizophrenia was a pre-existing condition but took $30 per appointment. So it was essentially legal robbery. The inability to have health insurance up until the system was changed had a big part with me ending up on SSI in the first place as the alternative was to be an indigent with the very expensive costs of American health care. I imagine many other VISTA volunteers went through the same bs. I know there’s many problems with Obamacare that need to be worked out but I’m glad the issue has at least been attempted to be addressed because not everyone who is diagnosed with some of the things that are labeled as pre-existing conditions should have to go on Medicaid or disability forever. While I will never be cured some people with mental illness do recover completely and deserve to have a normal life. I also think that some who recover reasonably well should also do the same. The new system is not perfect but I don’t think we should go back to the old system.

3 Likes

Thanks @Blizzard I agree!

1 Like

What is VISTA?

Obamacare infuriates me because there’s numerous people that make too little money to qualify for the subsidies. Granted, this isn’t Obama’s fault, but the fault of the states that voted down medicare expansion due to ideological reasons.