Allowance?

What was your allowance growing up as a kid?

MY Dad used to give me 2 dollars a week for cleaning his golf clubs. I think I graduated and capped out at 5 dollars per week as an early teenager.

But a kid with 2 bucks in my era could really ‘go to town’. I’d buy pop, gum, candy, freezies…etc at the local convenience store and even have change left over.

Dang I’m an old-timer, eh?

I got $1/week. Eventually, I got nothing.

1 Like

$2/week as a preteen. $5/week as a teen until about age 14, when I found work.

Our daughter gets $10/week right now (she’s 14) and she works for me as second camera when I hire out, or as an assistant DJ when I have gigs. I give her 10% of gross for those and write her income off against taxes as a subcontractor, which she is.

Pixel.

2 Likes

I think that’s wonderful, Pix…

Your young daughter will have tons of great teenage memories hanging out with Dad shooting film or cranking out the tunes! :wink:

1 Like

1 dollar Bob :slight_smile: then later 2 dollars a week

I remember in 1978…

Public transit cost a quarter. It went up to 30 cents the next year and we all had a fit because we had to add a nickel to the fare! lol!

I was 12 years old at that time.

In the late-80s, I was able to ride the Washington DC Metro into Anacostia from Alexandria and back for about $2. Now it’s like $8 or 10.

My dad and I used to DJ together. I’m getting all nostalgic now! Those were some of my best memories.

My allowance system was dependent on the work I did. Washing dishes was $10 (for eleven people, by hand), taking out the trash was $2, cleaning my room was $5, cleaning the bathroom was$10.

The pay started lower, and slowly raised as I got older. We also got paid based on our report card grades. $20 for an A, $10 for a B, $1 for a C, and we had to pay back for any failing grades.

1 Like

And real music like this was on the airwaves…(sigh)…