Absolutely Ridiculous

I have been diagnosed with schizophrenia for most of past 4 years. Last time I saw my psychiatrist he decided to prescribe me epival, a mood stabilizer. Then I had a second opinion and the other psychiatrist suggested that my anger is mostly situational. Today I saw my psychiatrist again with my parents. We had a disagreement on our diagnosis and he kept saying how he cannot treat me when I am not following his orders. I asked him for some sleeping pills and he refuses to give them to me. He even suggested to my parents to file me for mental incompetence in order to force me to take the epival that I do not need to take.

Absolutely ridiculous psychiatrist. Totally useless and retarded. I am doing a masters of finance at a pretty famous university. I am looking to pursue a 6 figure paying job in the future. He dares suggest I am mentally incompetent? I was furious I almost smashed the hospital door. I went on screaming and yelling at the hospital. I still have occasional anger problems arising situationally every time as proven in this context of provocation by the psychiatrist. I will definitely not be seeing this psychiatrist anymore. However, as I live in Canada, I am allocated a particular psychiatrist only. Now I would have to switch to another one for sure.

2 Likes

If you are screaming and slamming doors and carrying on, what makes you think a doctor will give you sleeping pills? That would be totally irresponsible and reckless on his part. The Epival…have you ever even taken it? For how long? What do YOU think you need?

2 Likes

I would definitely watch out for that mentally incompetent label. That might can back to haunt you. From the angry reaction you describe, I think you need something to manage your volatility. Maybe you could work with the doctor to find something that helps.

cc: @anon95278303

Because it is just that:

A label meaning whatever it means to one who finds it pasted on his forehead.