15 years, still unsure of schizoaffective diagnosis

I begin this stream-of-consciousness dump with the obvious caveat: I’m not a doctor of any variety, capacity, or ability.

Received a diagnosis of schizoaffective disorder (believe the doc said “bipolar type”), 2007. While I was on disability, had a review by another doctor in 2010 who I guess confirmed that diagnosis, since disability payments continued until I ended up employed some time later. Spouse confirms from outside observation that the diagnosis seems accurate. While I was on meds for a time (Zoloft, Invega), I eventually stopped taking them fairly early on, from a combination of side effects, and lack of (at the time) income to afford them. I’ve not been on them since.

It would seem, all considered, that these combined factors would make accepting such a thing very easy to do, yet I find it difficult to. Stories I read/hear from others with the diagnosis rarely feel like my experiences, and while symptoms I’ve found in online resources match in some ways (difficulty with emotional expression, disordered thoughts, tendencies towards isolation over socialization, and as my spouse notes, a number of physical tells/tics), it doesn’t seem to match in others. Hallucinations seem exceedingly rare, and often olfactory rather than sounds/voices. Visual ones, I could probably count on one hand over 15 years. I’ve not seen mention of habits like chewing on fingers, yet the ends of my fingers are calloused beyond recognition from an apparent inability to stop doing this.