Your screenshot of Desktop and Start Menu (if any)

This is mine:

Windows XP (Desktop)

Windows XP (Start Menu)

What is yours?

@Plumber, just for your information, in case you hadn’t heard, Microsoft has discontinued its support of XP as of about 6 weeks ago. You may want to upgrade/switch to Linux if you can.

Thank you very much for your information. I am aware of it. Because of the discontinued support, I have removed MS Security Essentials. I am new to Linux, and have no ideas where to start. What do you recommend? Can I download the .ISO? It is about time to learn new OS.

For a new user, I’d recommend Linux Mint 17 with the Cinnamon desktop.

http://www.linuxmint.com/edition.php?id=157

You’ll download the ISO file, and need a blank DVD disc and burner to burn the ISO. You can boot straight off the disk and try it out before you install it. During install, it’ll give you the option to retain your Windows partition, which I’d recommend. Do the install, reboot, and you’re done!

Pretty boring right now.

OK, I will try it out and let you know later. (The only problem is I only have optical drive which does not support recordable CD or DVD)
Thanks for your guidance.

It is too small. I think there is a row of icons beneath it.

If you know someone who has an external DVD burner, you could borrow that. Most of them are USB-based.

Here’s a twofer for ya. The top desktop is my Chromebook. The bottom desktop is my Windows 7 workstation I use for photo, video, and sound editing/processing. You’ll notice that aside from Adobe Creative Cloud, I tend toward the same software on both systems.

10-96

1 Like

I do not have the resources right now for at least a few weeks more. Can I burn it to SD card? I am unsure if the BIOS supports it as bootable device. The only thing I have besides the laptop PC is a smartphone with USB cable and 8GB micro SD as storage.

I use my smartphone. Have no startscreen. Oh. I have several screens with apps. :slight_smile: