What's the point of going off meds?

I’ve seen some SZs say they try to stop taking medication for a while, and some of them wind up needing to take it again. What’s the point of doing that if the symptoms could return? I don’t understand. Is it that it’s necessary sometimes for health?

I’m still learning about this illness.

1 Like

Personally, when I took medication, whenever I was in a manic state I couldn’t differentiate between me being healthy and me being manic, of course, so I would think I was healthy again and want to stop taking my meds. I only hid them a few times in my life but generally I took them because I was scared of being off them. now that I am permanently off psych meds, it worries me a lot when people say these things. but every schizophrenic is different. some need medication more than others just to function, for some it controls their basic symptoms, and most people who don’t want to take their meds simply arent on the right meds.

2 Likes

It’s common for people on medication to get better and then figure they don’t need their medication anymore because they are feeling so good. They don’t realize they only feel good BECAUSE of the medication.
Other people feel bad side-effects of their medication and stop taking it because they figure it will be better to be off of their medication completely and risk relapse then live with those side-effects.
Other people stop taking meds because they think the meds are hurting or poisoning them or causing more harm than good or it is bad for their physical or mental health or they think it would be bad in the long run to take medication.
Other people simply don’t think they need medication anymore and want to try life without it.
People want to risk a relapse just to see if they don’t need meds anymore.

8 Likes