Switching to Clozapine while waiting for Caripazine?

Hi, I’m currently under Abilify Maintena 300mg, but the main problem that I have with this med is that it causes hypersomnia and it seems that this fatigue induced problem worsen my negative symptoms. I mean, I do not feel any negative symptoms when I feel awake. But being in the state of being awake doesn’t happen that much.

Exercising helps me to deal with hypersomnia, but the fact is that I’m a college 2nd year student and I have a be “productive” and my schedule doesn’t really allow me to exercice that much.
That hypersomnia really annoys me, I always feel tired under Abilify, and that the main reason that I want to switch.

So, I’ve heard that Clozapine was most effective against negative symptoms than Abilify and that tiredness is a little more “bearable” that the fatigue induced by Abilify.

Is that true ? To be honest, I want to give it a try and was thinking to talk about switching with a pdoc, but … only for a limited time. Also, I’ve heard that this med can be lethal in some conditions and that we have to do blood test every week.

Apparently, cariprazine will be commercialized in April 2018, but in Germany, haven’t heard anything about France (where I live), but it won’t be that long after Germany, I guess. So I was wondering, is this a good idea, or should I be stuck on Abilify until Reagila (cariprazine name in Europe) will be in stock ?

Thanks in advance for your replies !

2 Likes

@Xavclaire

I wouldn’t switch to Clozapine for 6 months while waiting for a new med to come to market. Clozapine has a rare, but potentially fatal, side effect that will require blood draws (weekly to begin). It’s more of a med for people who’ve tried all of the other meds with no benefit.

How about bridging the 6-month gap with another AP?