Is it better to be a great artist or a good person?

From the 60s you know the male artist would say to their wives I am an artist I had to sleep with her. It’s such a crock. I think it’s better to do no art and be a decent person.

1 Like

I think there is a real misconception about what constitutes art:

http://www.butzi.net/articles/art_is_a_verb.htm

Pixel.

I tend to despise people that label themselves as artists.

1 Like

I tend to like it all on a superficial level but look for something that I could never do.

There are many examples of great writers who were awful people. The Russian writer Dostoyevsky is considered the greatest writer who ever lived, but I’ve read so many people who said he was a horrible person. They say he made a fool of himself chasing other women in his wife’s presence. He was foul tempered and he constantly berated people and insulted them. I think there were more sinister things in his behavior too. The American writer F. Scott Fitzgerald was a hopeless drunk who insulted people and then begged their forgiveness when he was hung over the next day. His works always amaze me though. Hemingway was known to get in the boxing ring and show off against much weaker opponents. Edgar Allen Poe was an opium addict who fell desperately in love with his thirteen year old cousin. He wrote a poem about her called “Annabelle Lee”. As far as writing goes, I think writing ability has little influence on how good a person you are. There are very decent writers, but I have come across writers who turned me off immediately with their behavior. Most of the time I think it is more important to be a good person than a good writer.

What happened though because most you mentioned were modernists? Was it the war? Was it poverty? Was it ego? Dostoyevsky reformed and was able to write brothers Karam oof. Look at pound he was in jail for decades as an antisemitic. Pity was placed upon them. No pity from us?