I don't know if I can keep doing this job

The constant supervision is killing me. There’s no leeway for me to take my own approach with things. They tell me to get the kids swimming as much as possible so now my kids get really tired and aren’t having as much fun. I can’t for the life of me keep looking back constantly while also trying to correct the swimming of the kid I’m working with. I’m not firm. I’m awkward with the parents and I swear most of them don’t like me or just aren’t impressed. I feel like my manager just wants an excuse to fire me but can’t really find one because I am “sweet” and I follow the rules. It’s too stressful. I can’t take the constant scrutiny.

Nursing school will be similar though I think, I’ll probably also be under observation. Maybe it’s good to get used to this now. Ugh…I feel like I’m not good at anything.

Ii think with our sz we tend to feel the way you described for really no good reason. Ive got over it by just learning to work for my own intrust and figured I’ll deal with it if I get fired. Ended up getting lots of raises and becoming a valuable employee with that attitude. I know in our state they really don’t need much of a reason to fire you. Think if they wanted you gone you . Would have been by now.

1 Like

sorry @Anna
I don’t know which advice to give you.

I don’t think I can work for someone anymore, me personally until I am functional.

You can do some private tutoring, don’t you think? It pays well and it is one-on-one. If you get 5 students a couple times a week, is more than enough.

I’ve been considering that. Then I could do what I wanted at my own pace. However contractually I’m not allowed to do anything like that until I think I’ve been not associated w the company for over a year. (They don’t want anyone stealing their techniques)

1 Like

It does not have to be swimming. You can teach math for 8-10 year olds for example.

1 Like