Does antipsychotics hurt your ability to create?

The drugs have hurt my ability, I am afraid to take medicine because I am an artist, I can not without a work, please tell me how it is with you?

2 Likes

Good meds get rid of congnitve problems. Thereā€™s no easy way to find out but to take them. Positive symptoms are usually taken care of for most but youā€™ll have the side effects of the medication and youā€™ll have the negative symptoms that arenā€™t addressed by the the medications.

Iā€™d suspect if your not delusional then your postive symptoms are getting to be under control. Itā€™s probably those negative symptoms and depression that are in question. Never pass aside depression. Itā€™s common for most folk with schizoprhenia and it can be a deal breaker.

The disorder untreated is brain damage. Medications can improve neural linksā€¦so keep on them. Meanwhile work on the negatives and depression. Simple exercise 30 minutes a day can make a big difference!

6 Likes

I feel like my emotions have dulled downā€¦ ā€¦

But it might be more to do with my illnessā€¦

4 Likes

I used to be an artist and antipsychotics hurt your ability, i think itā€™s trueā€¦

2 Likes

And itā€™s true, any work I managed to draw under drugs was many levels below what I could, beyond the negative signs, something in the brain in processing the work, and the sigt was lost

Dopamine and Serotonin are the main ingredients for imaginative creativity. Aps reduce their production in the brain so connections and thoughts which we assimilate and use to spark creativity are blocked. Hence, a dulling of our ability to create new meanings and ideas. So yeah, aps have a lot to answer for when it comes to loss of creative flare.

2 Likes

Yes, I read an article about Parkinsonā€™s treatment, they are given drugs that increase dopamine, and indeed they started writing and painting, unfortunately all these drugs block the dopamine receptors, I checked the subject and itā€™s very scary