Clozapine decrease side affects?

As some of you may know from another post of mine my son got the go ahead to decrease his Clozapine from 300 to 200 and that was 7 days ago. The last time he did this, without Dr’s consent, things were pretty messed up with alcohol and marijuana so I didn’t notice the changes. This time I’m noticing. Says his dreams are more vivid and has said that his anxiety seems to be a little worse. He is hitting his bed and walls more. Walking harder/heavier. We just butted heads about him hitting the walls. He wouldn’t let me speak, kept interrupting me and said he didn’t know that he wasn’t supposed to hit the walls. I have been telling him not to for 8 months. It’s not a new request. Then it’s attitude how he doesn’t have to take this ■■■■ cause he’s an adult…

It’s it normal to go through big withdrawal/side affects when decreasing big amounts? I was concerned about decreasing by 100 mg. If it is normal does it usually even out after a couple of weeks?

I was on 800 mg of clozapine for a few years. I remember when we tapered down, I started feeling very anxious and irritable. My doc decreased it over the course of two weeks also, so I can imagine those feelings being more amplified in your son’s case of reducing in 7 days.

The good news is that the anxiety and irritability got much better in a little under a month for me.

So I hope it gets better for your son. If it doesn’t, he might need to talk to his doc about increasing his anti-anxiety med.

Blessings,

Anthony

3 Likes

I hope your son feels better soon Barbie - wishing him well

1 Like

I am so sorry this is happening. It’s the cha cha. When my seroquel got cut, there was still something to take it’s place. It wasn’t just half of what i could function with. I hope he still goes to school despite this med set back. I hope this gets evened out soon and you all have some peace. Wishing all the best for your family.

1 Like